George Dunea, MD, FACP, FRCP, FASN

President and CEO
Dr. George Dunea serves as Hektoen’s president and CEO. He is also a professor of medicine at University of Illinois at Chicago and founding chairman emeritus, Division of Nephrology, John H. Stroger, Jr. Hospital of Cook County. He also serves as Editor-in-Chief of Hektoen International.

312.768.6000 |  George.dunea@hektoen.org


Dennis Ronowski

Administrator
Dennis oversees all of Hektoen’s fiscal and administrative operations and has served in this role for over 13 years.

312.768.6008  |  dennis.ronowski@hektoen.org


Mariela Romo

Associate Administrator & Business Operations Manager

Mariela leads Hektoen’s post-award team and is responsible for compliance monitoring as well as overall internal business operations. She brings wide experience with Hektoen’s programs.

312.768.6021  |  Mariela.romo@hektoen.org


Michael Remensnyder

Associate Administrator & Controller
Mike serves as Hektoen’s controller and manages all accounting activities for the organization.

312.768.6005  |  Michael.remensnyder@hektoen.org


Lavenia Bell

Accounting, Reporting & Billing Coordinator
Lavenia is responsible for billing and reporting for Hektoen’s portfolio of sponsored programs.

312.768.6019  |  Lavenia.bell@hektoen.org


Jacob Brown

Pre-Award Grant Manager
Jake manages pre-award administration, working with investigators to develop competitive proposals in response to new and ongoing funding opportunities.

312.768.6028  |  Jacob.brown@hektoen.org


Lorena Casillas

Post-Award Grant Specialist

Lorena provides grant management support by coordinating post-award activities for multiple grants and contracts, including expenditure reports and time and effort tracking.

312.768.6034  |  Lorena.casillas@hektoen.org


Sandra Coronado

Staff Accountant
Sandra provides accounts receivable support for Hektoen’s grant portolfio.

312.768.6009  |  Sandra.coronado@hektoen.org


Alvaro Espino

Human Resources Manager
Alvaro delivers effective employee management solutions as the manager of Hektoen’s human resources department.

312.768.6025  |  Alvaro.espino@hektoen.org


Rebecca Galvan

Editorial Assistant
Rebecca provides project coordination and editing support for the Hektoen International journal.

312.768.6030  |  Rebecca.galvan@hektoen.org


Martha Gibson

Human Resources Benefits Coordinator
Martha supports the human resources department and is responsible for administering the employee benefits program.

312.768.6002  |  Martha.gibson@hektoen.org


Anne Jacobson, MD

Editorial Consultant
Dr. Jacobson provides editorial expertise for the Hektoen International journal.

312.768.6030  |  anne.jacobson@hektoen.org


Alicia Jones

Accounts Payable Manager
Alicia manages the accounts payable department, ensuring that all payments process quickly and accurately.

312.768.6017  |  Alicia.jones@hektoen.org


Marilyn Machuca

Billing Specialist
Marilyn supports billing and reporting for the post-award department and is responsible for monitoring processing requirements and billing restrictions for city-sponsored projects.

312.768.6018  |  Marilyn.machuca@hektoen.org


Teresa Martinez

Post-Award Grant Coordinator

Teresa manages post-award activities, including contract negotiations, expenditure tracking, reporting, and compliance monitoring.

312.768.6032  |  Teresa.martinez@hektoen.org


Lisa Sanchez

Payroll Coordinator
Lisa supports the efficiency and effectiveness of the payroll and human resources departments.

312.768.6027  |  lisa.sanchez@hektoen.org


Pam Thurman

Payroll Manager
Pam manages the payroll department for Hektoen’s staff of over 300 program employees.

312.768.6026  |  pam.thurman@hektoen.org